A DWI is a serious offense no matter how old you are, but being charged with a DWI as a minor can have serious longstanding consequences.
Anyone under the age of 21 in New Jersey operating a motor vehicle with a BAC over 0.01% will be charged with a DWI. New Jersey complies with the federal “Zero Tolerance Laws” that state that anyone under 21 can be given a DWI if driving with alcohol in their system, even if there is no evidence that it impaired their ability to drive.
Penalties for an underage DWI in New Jersey include:
- License suspension from 1 to 3 months
- If not licensed, postponed driving privileges from 1 to 3 months
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Attending the Alcohol and Traffic Safety Education program
If your child is underage and has been charged with a DWI, contact the Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq. immediately. We have a team of skilled and experienced lawyers who work aggressively to ensure the best possible outcome and to protect your child’s future.